Parental leave

What are the deadlines for my application for parental leave?

For the first parental leave (following maternity leave), the application must be made to the employer 2 months before the start of the maternity leave. For the second parental leave (up to the child's 6th birthday), the application must be received by the employer at least 4 months before the desired start of the parental leave. Parental leave must begin before the child's 6th birthday. However, these time limits can only be enforced by your employer. The CAE accepts applications signed by the employer even if the deadlines are not met.

 

I applied in March 2020 for parental leave to start in September 2020. When will I receive confirmation of my parental leave?

We aim to send confirmation of parental leave no later than 2 weeks before the start.

How is my income calculated during my parental leave?

The new parental leave will be a real replacement income, calculated on the basis of the average monthly earned income during the twelve months preceding the start of the parental leave. Only pensionable income is taken into account for the calculation of the parental leave allowance. If you want to know which salaries are pensionable, please consult the table here.  Please note, for example, that overtime worked in the year before parental leave is not taken into account for the calculation of parental leave.

The period of parental leave for a person with a 40-hour employment contract who wishes to take parental leave on a full-time basis:

  • minimum 2,141.99 gross
  • maximum 3,569.99 gross

The compensation ceiling varies according to the number of hours worked.

Limit of compensation for full-time parental leave
Average number of hours worked per week lower limit upper limit
40
€ 2,201.93 € 3,669.88
30 € 1,651.45
€ 2,752.41
20 € 1,100.96 € 1,834.94
10 € 550.48 € 917.47

 

Limit of compensation for half-time parental leave
For a part-time leave: Work (hours/week) lower limit upper limit    
40 € 1,100.96 € 1,834.94
30 € 825.72 € 1,376.21
20 € 550.48 € 917.47
10 N/A N/A

 

Limit of compensation for part-time parental leave  (once a week)
For split leave: Work (hours/week) lower limit upper limit  
40 € 440.39 € 733.98
30 N/A N/A
20 N/A N/A
10 N/A N/A

 

Please use our calculator to find out your gross income during your parental leave period.

The parental leave allowance is a replacement income. As a result, it is subject to social security contributions and taxes in the same way as a salary.

To determine how much tax you have to pay, you first need to know whether you have a main or the additional tax card. The withholding tax of the holder of a main withholding tax card is calculated by application of the scale on salaries and wages or the scale on pensions and annuities. The additional tax card has a fixed withholding rate of 15% (class 2), 21% (class 1A) or 33% (class 1).

A single main tax card is issued for what is expected to be the highest gross annual wage. 

Provided that married spouses are taxed collectively, they get only one main form for their joint household.

I received a tax deduction form for my parental leave: Who should I send it to?

You can keep this form. There is no need to send it to the CAE.

Should I get a new main or additional tax card?

If you take full-time parental leave, a new main or additional card (depending on your case) will be issued showing the CAE as the employer. You keep the same type of card. The tax form will be updated by the Direct Tax Administration without any intervention or request from the taxpayer, within an average of 30 working days.
If you take half-time parental leave, your employer keeps your old deduction form and you obtain a new form with the CAE as employer.
The sum of deductions made for a year N may be too high or too low. The difference can be reimbursed or recovered in the course of the year N+1, at the time of regularisation by means of a tax assessment (model 100 N) or an annual statement (model 163 N)

See also:

Practical example illustrating the difference between half-time parental leave under the old regime and the new law.

Mrs Dupont works 20 hours a week and earns EUR 3,000 gross per month. In May 2013 she gives birth to Louise and takes parental leave following her maternity leave. She chooses to take half-time parental leave. Since at this time the legislation provides for a 20-hour reduction in working time for half-time work, she takes her parental leave for 12 months and does not work at all. During this year she receives a parental leave allowance of EUR 855. She returns to her 20-hour-a-week job at the end of the 12 months.


In November 2016, Mrs Dupont gives birth to John and decides again to take parental leave following her maternity leave. Thanks to the new law she now has the choice between a full-time leave of 4 or 6 months or a half-time leave of 8 or 12 months.

  • a) She opts for full-time parental leave and receives a replacement income of EUR 1,600 gross.
  • b) She decides to go for half-time parental leave for 12 months. As parental leave under the new regime is a real half-time (i.e. 50%) rather than a reduction in her workload by 20 hours, she will continue to work for 10 hours a week. For these 10 hours, she will receive half her gross salary, i.e. EUR 1,500. The 10 hours of parental leave will be paid at EUR 800. In total, she will receive a gross income of EUR 2,300 for these 12 months.
My spouse does not work. When should I apply to my employer for a CP1?

If no maternity leave is due because the mother-to-be is not working, the first parental leave can be taken (by the father) at the earliest on the first day of the third week after the birth or, in the case of adoption, from the date of the adoption judgment. If, for example, the child is born on 5 January, parental leave can start at the earliest on 19 January. You must apply to your employer four months before the expected date of the child's birth.   

The split parental leave allows for a reduction in working time of twenty percent per week for a period of twenty months. How can we get organised?

You can only choose split parental leave if you work full time. The concrete arrangements for this reduction in working time are to be settled with your employer and the CAE does not interfere in these choices. For example, with the agreement of your employer, you can choose to take your leave during two afternoons per week or spread your eight hours of leave over the whole week.

Is it possible to change the parental leave model after the start of parental leave?

No, once parental leave has started, it is no longer possible to change the model.

Can I change employers during parental leave?

A change of employer during parental leave is possible if your new employer agrees that you may continue your parental leave. In this case, you must send us a letter from your new employer certifying that he or she agrees that you should continue your parental leave and a copy of your new employment contract. The latter must contain the same number of working hours as the employment contract that established the right to parental leave. Please also note that the period between the end of your old contract and the start of your new contract cannot exceed 7 days.  
 
However, if you change employers during your parental leave, you may also decide to return to work with the new employer before the leave expires, with the allowance paid up to that date remaining unchanged.

Please note: if the parental leave is interrupted for no reason beyond your control and does not involve a change of employer, you will be obliged to repay the amounts received for the parental leave that has already matured! This means that you cannot interrupt your parental leave e.g. after 2 months and return to work with your employer.

 

Can my employer refuse my parental leave?

If it is parental leave following maternity leave and it is a request for full-time leave of 6 or 4 months, your employer cannot refuse it provided that your request was received by the employer in the form and within the time limits provided by law. However, they may refuse half-time or split leave. In the case of parental leave up to the child's sixth birthday, the employer cannot refuse the requested leave on a full-time basis either, but can ask to postpone it by two months in companies with more than 15 employees and by six months in companies with fewer than 15 employees.


The CAE is only responsible for the granting of the parental leave allowance. Disputes that may arise between the employer and the employee concerning the granting or postponement of the requested parental leave fall within the competence of the mediator or the labour courts, in accordance with the provisions of the Labour Code.

Can my child go to nursery during parental leave?

Parental leave was introduced to allow parents and children to spend more time together and thus create a strong relationship between child and parent. That is why the law on parental leave stipulates that the applicant must bring up the child in his or her own home and devote himself or herself mainly to bringing up the child (Article 234-43 (1) of the Labour Code). If you have applied for full-time parental leave, your child will in principle not be able to attend nursery school during your parental leave. The law does not provide for absolute incompatibility, but the addition "mainly" cannot be interpreted too broadly either. For example, during full-time parental leave, our Fund allows a few hours of daycare per week, e.g. for the child's adaptation phase, in order not to completely abandon the daycare place, to maintain social contacts and the child's exchange with his or her peers etc. The situation is always analysed on a case-by-case basis and usually a solution is found in cooperation with the parents.

If you have applied for half-time parental leave, your child will be able to go to the nursery part-time (during your working hours).

I am on split parental leave (one day a week). A public holiday falls on my parental leave day. Can I get this holiday back?

No, if a public holiday falls on the same day as your parental leave day, you will not be able to reclaim that public holiday. 

I don't want to take my parental leave. Can my spouse take it for me?

No, parental leave is an individual right, and it is therefore not transferable.

As a self-employed cross-border worker, do I have to disaffiliate before parental leave?

Yes. While the CAE disaffiliates the employee before his parental leave and re-affiliates him after his leave, the self-employed worker has to disaffiliate himself with the social security affiliation centre before his full-time or split parental leave with four one-month periods. In this case, they must disaffiliate before each period of parental leave. If they chose half-time parental leave, they certify on their application that they are reducing their activity by half.

I get sick before or during my parental leave. What do I have to do?

If you are on sick leave before the start of your parental leave, this will only affect your parental leave if the sick leave does not end until after the start of the parental leave. For example: your parental leave is due to start on 15 October but your doctor certifies that you are off sick until 25 October. In this case, the CAE has to reject your application for parental leave. You will have to submit a new application after your sick leave. If the leave ends before the start of the parental leave, the parental leave can start normally.


Illness during parental leave has no influence on your right to parental leave. You do not need to send us a medical certificate and your parental leave continues as normal. You cannot interrupt the leave to resume it after the sick leave.   

Is it possible to take unpaid leave during parental leave?

Parental leave cannot be combined with unpaid leave.

Is there still 4 months of unpaid parental leave?

The 4-month unpaid parental leave was abolished by the law of 3 November 2016 on parental leave reform.

Can I take parental leave in several part times?

No, generally parental leave has to be taken completely except for the parental split leave i.e. 4 months over a maximum period of 20 months or split leave 1 day per week for up to 20 months.

Can I take parental leave during my trial period?

During trial period you are not entitled to parental leave. You have to wait until you are employed regularly to apply for parental leave.
Please note, if you change your employer during your parental leave our fund will not check if you have another trial period.

 

Is it possible for a government employee or employee covered by the government employee scheme to apply for a parental leave during traineeship / probationary period?

Art. 29bis of the general civil servant status (“Statut général des fonctionnaires de l’Etat”) does not apply to government employees in their first year of traineeship.

Parental leave can only start after the end of the first year of traineeship (art. 1, paragraph 3).

By analogy, art. 29bis does neither apply to public employees covered by the government employee scheme during the first year of their probationary period.

No application for parental leave starting before the end of the first year of the traineeship/probationary period is accepted.

Last update

Congé parental

Quels sont les délais à respecter pour ma demande de congé parental?

Pour le premier congé parental (consécutif au congé de maternité), la demande doit être faite auprès de l’employeur 2 mois avant le début du congé de maternité. Pour le 2e congé parental (jusqu’à l’âge de 6 ans de l’enfant), la demande doit parvenir à l’employeur au moins 4 mois avant le début souhaité du congé parental. Le congé parental doit débuter avant le 6e anniversaire de l'enfant. Cependant ces délais ne sont opposables que par votre employeur. La CAE accepte les demandes signées par l'employeur même si les délais ne sont pas respectés.

 

J’ai fait une demande en mars 2017 pour un congé parental qui devrait commencer en septembre 2017. Quand est-ce que je vais recevoir la confirmation de mon congé parental?

Nous nous efforçons d’envoyer une confirmation de congé parental au plus tard 2 semaines avant le début.

Comment est calculé mon revenu pendant mon congé parental ?

Le nouveau congé parental sera un réel revenu de remplacement, calculé sur la base du revenu professionnel mensuel moyen réalisé au cours des douze mois précédant le début du congé parental. Seuls les revenus pensionnables sont pris en considération pour le calcul de l'indemnité de congé parental. Si vous voulez savoir quels salaires sont pensionnables, veuillez consulter le tableau ici.  Veillez par exemple noter que les heures supplémentaires prestées au cours de l'année précédant le congé parental, ne sont pas prises en considération pour le calcul du congé parental.

La période de congé parental pour une personne avec un contrat de travail de 40 heures qui souhaite prendre un congé parental à plein-temps :

  • minimum 2.048,54  euros brut
  • maximum 3414,24 euros brut

Le plafond d’indemnisation varie en fonction du nombre d’heures de travail.

Plafond d’indemnisation pour un congé parental à plein-temps
Moyenne des heures prestées Limite inférieure Limite supérieure
40 2048,54 € 3414,24 €
30 1536,40 € 2560,68 €
20 1024,27 € 1707,12 €
10 512,12 € 853,56 €

 

Plafond d’indemnisation pour un congé parental à mi-temps
Tâche (heures/semaine) Limite inférieure Limite supérieure
40 1024,27 € 1707,12 €
30 768,20 € 1280,34 €
20 512,13 € 853,56 €
10 n.a. n.a.

 

Plafond d’indemnisation pour un congé parental fractionné (1 jour par semaine)
Tâche (heures/semaine) Limite inférieure Limite supérieure
40 409,71 € 682,85 €
30 n.a. n.a.
20 n.a. n.a.
10 n.a. n.a.

 

Veuillez utiliser notre calculateur pour connaître votre revenu brut au cours de votre période de congé parental.

L’indemnité de congé parental est un revenu de remplacement. De ce fait, il est soumis comme un salaire, aux cotisations sociales et à l’impôt.

Pour déterminer l’impôt que vous devez payer, il faut d’abord savoir si vous détenez une fiche principale ou une fiche additionnelle. La retenue d'impôt à la source du porteur d'une fiche de retenue d'impôt principale est calculée par application du barème sur traitements et salaires ou du barème sur les pensions et rentes. La fiche additionnelle comporte un taux de retenue fixe de 15% (classe 2), 21% (classe 1A) ou 33% (classe 1).

Une seule fiche principale est établie pour la rémunération dont le montant brut sera prévisiblement le plus élevé. 

Du moment que les conjoints mariés sont imposables collectivement, ils n'obtiennent qu'une seule fiche principale pour leur ménage commun.

J'ai reçu une fiche de retenue d'impôts pour mon congé parental. A qui dois-je la renvoyer?

Vous pouvez conserver cette fiche. Vous n'avez pas besoin de la renvoyer à la CAE.

Devrais-je obtenir une nouvelle fiche de retenue d’impôt principale ou additionnelle ?

Si vous prenez un congé parental à plein-temps, une nouvelle fiche principale ou additionnelle (selon votre cas) sera émise reprenant la CAE comme employeur. Vous gardez le même type de fiche. La fiche d’impôt sera mise à jour par l’Administration des contributions directes sans intervention et sans demande de la part du contribuable, dans un intervalle moyen de 30 jours ouvrables.
Si vous prenez un congé parental à mi-temps votre employeur conserve votre ancienne fiche de retenue et vous obtenez une nouvelle fiche reprenant la CAE comme employeur.

La somme des retenues opérées pour une année N peut être trop élevée ou trop basse. La différence peut être remboursée ou recouvrée, au courant de l'année N+1, lors de la régularisation par voie d'assiette (modèle 100 N) ou par décompte annuel (modèle 163 N)

Voir aussi :

Exemple pratique illustrant la différence entre un congé parental mi-temps sous l’ancien régime et sous la nouvelle loi

Madame Dupont travaille 20h par semaine et gagne 3000€ brut par mois. En mai 2013 elle accouche de Louise et prend un congé parental à la suite de son congé de maternité. Elle choisit un congé parental à mi-temps. Etant donné que la législation prévoit pour un mi-temps une réduction du temps de travail de 20 heures, elle prend son congé parental pendant 12 mois et ne travaille plus du tout. Pendant cette année, elle touche une indemnité de congé parental de 855€. Elle reprend son travail de 20h par semaine à l’issue des 12 mois de congé parental.


En novembre 2016, Madame Dupont accouche de Jean et décide à nouveau de prendre un congé parental à la suite du congé de maternité. Grâce à la nouvelle loi elle a le choix entre un congé plein-temps de 4 ou de 6 mois ou un congé à mi-temps de 8 ou de 12 mois.

  • a) Elle opte pour un congé parental à plein temps et touche un revenu de remplacement de 1.600 brut.
  • b) Elle opte pour un congé parental à mi-temps de 12 mois. Comme le congé parental correspond sous le nouveau régime à un véritable mi-temps (donc à la moitié) et non plus à une réduction de sa tâche à raison de 20 heures, elle continuera à travailler 10 heures par semaine. Pour ces 10 heures, elle touchera la moitié de son salaire brut, donc 1.500 €. Les 10 heures de congé parental seront rémunérées à raison de 800 €. Au total, elle percevra pour ces 12 mois un revenu brut de 2.300 €.

Mon épouse ne travaille pas. Quand dois-je faire ma demande auprès de mon employeur pour un CP1?

Si aucun congé de maternité n'est dû du fait que la future mère ne travaille pas, le premier congé parental peut être pris (par le père) au plus tôt le premier jour de la troisième semaine qui suit l'accouchement ou, en cas d'adoption, à partir de la date du jugement d'adoption. Si par exemple l'enfant naît le 5 janvier, le congé parental peut débuter au plus tôt le 19 janvier. Vous devez adresser votre demande auprès de votre employeur quatre mois avant la date présumée de la naissance de l'enfant.    

Le CP fractionné permet de réduire la durée de travail à raison de vingt pourcent par semaine pendant une période de vingt mois. Comment peut-on s'organiser?

Vous ne pouvez opter pour le CP fractionné que si vous travaillez à plein-temps. Les modalités concrètes concernant cette réduction du temps de travail sont à régler avec votre employeur et la CAE ne s’immisce pas dans ces choix. Ainsi, avec l’accord de votre employeur, vous pouvez par exemple aussi choisir de prendre votre congé pendant deux après-midis par semaine ou encore répartir vos huit heures de congé sur toute la semaine.

Est-il possible de changer de modèle de congé parental après le début du congé parental?

Non, une fois que le congé parental a commencé, il n’est plus possible de changer de modèle.

Puis-je changer d'employeur pendant le congé parental?

Un changement d’employeur pendant le congé parental est possible si votre nouvel employeur est d’accord pour que vous continuiez votre congé parental. Dans ce cas, vous devez nous faire parvenir un courrier de votre nouvel employeur certifiant qu’il est d’accord pour que vous continuiez votre congé parental ainsi qu’une copie de votre nouveau contrat de travail. Ce dernier doit contenir le même nombre d'heures de travail que le contrat de travail ayant ouvert le droit au congé parental. Veuillez aussi noter que la période entre la fin de votre ancien contrat de travail et le début de votre nouveau contrat ne peut pas dépasser 7 jours.  
 

Toutefois, en cas de changement d'employeur pendant le congé parental, vous pouvez aussi décider de reprendre le travail auprès du nouvel employeur avant l'expiration du congé, l'indemnité versée jusqu'à cette date restant acquise.

Attention : une interruption du congé parental sans raison extérieure à votre volonté et qui ne comporte pas le changement d’employeur entraîne l’obligation de rembourser les montants reçus à titre du congé parental déjà échu ! Ainsi, vous ne pouvez pas interrompre votre congé parental p.ex. au bout de 2 mois et reprendre le travail auprès de votre employeur.

Mon employeur peut-il refuser mon congé parental?

S'il s'agit d'un congé parental suivant le congé de maternité et qu'il s'agit d'une demande de congé à plein-temps de 6 ou de 4 mois, votre employeur ne peut pas le refuser à condition que votre demande est parvenue à l’employeur dans les formes et délais prévus par la loi. Il peut cependant refuser le congé à mi-temps ou fractionné. S'il s'agit d'un congé parental jusqu'à l'âge de six ans de l'enfant, il ne peut pas non plus refuser le congé demandé à plein-temps mais il peut demander à le reporter de deux mois pour les entreprises occupant plus de quinze salariés  et de six mois dans celles occupant moins de quinze salariés.

Mon enfant peut-il aller à la crèche pendant le congé parental?

Le congé parental a été introduit afin de permettre aux parents et aux enfants de passer plus de temps ensemble et de créer ainsi une relation solide entre l'enfant et ses parents. Voilà pourquoi la loi du congé parental prévoit que le demandeur doit élever l'enfant dans son foyer et d'adonner principalement à son éducation (Article 234-43 (1) du Code du travail). Si vous avez demandé un congé parental à plein-temps, votre enfant ne pourra en principe pas aller à la crèche pendant la période de votre congé parental. La loi ne prévoit pas d’incompatibilité absolue, mais l’ajout « principalement » ne peut pas être interprété de manière trop large non plus. Ainsi, pendant un congé parental à plein temps, notre Caisse admet une fréquentation de la crèche de quelques heures par semaine, par exemple pour la phase d’adaptation de l’enfant, pour ne pas abandonner complétement la place à la crèche, pour maintenir des contacts sociaux et l’échange de l’enfant avec ses collègues etc. La situation est toujours analysée au cas par cas et en principe une solution est trouvée en collaboration avec les parents.

Si vous avez demandé un congé parental à mi-temps, votre enfant pourra aller à mi-temps à la crèche (pendant vos heures de travail).

Je suis en congé parental fractionné (un jour par semaine). Un jour férié tombe sur mon jour de congé parental. Puis-je récupérer ce jour férié?

Non, si un jour férié tombe le même jour que votre jour de congé parental, vous ne pourrez pas récupérer ce jour férié.  

Je ne veux pas prendre mon congé parental. Est-ce que mon épouse peut le prendre à ma place?

Non, le congé parental étant un droit individuel, il n'est pas transférable.

Le travailleur indépendant doit-il se désaffilier avant le congé parental?

Oui. Alors que la CAE procède à la désaffiliation du travailleur salarié avant son congé parental et à sa réaffiliation après son congé, le travailleur indépendant doit se désaffilier lui-même auprès du centre d'affiliation de la sécurité sociale avant son congé parental à plein-temps ou fractionné avec quatre période d'un mois. Dans ce cas, il doit se désaffilier avant chaque période de congé parental. S'il a choisi un congé parental à mi-temps, il certifie sur sa demande qu'il réduit son activité de moitié.

J'ai un arrêt maladie avant ou pendant le congé parental. Que faire?

Si vous êtes en arrêt maladie avant le début du congé parental cela a une influence sur votre congé parental uniquement si l'arrêt ne se termine qu'après le début du congé parental. Par exemple: votre congé parental doit débuter le 15 octobre mais votre médecin vous atteste un arrêt maladie jusqu'au 25 octobre. Dans ce cas, la CAE est obligé de rejeter votre demande de congé parental. Vous devrez présenter une nouvelle demande après votre arrêt maladie. Si l'arrêt se termine avant le début du congé parental, ce dernier peut débuter normalement.

Une maladie pendant le congé parental n'a aucune influence sur votre droit au congé parental. Vous n'avez pas besoin de nous envoyer de certificat de maladie et votre congé parental continue normalement. Vous ne pouvez pas interrompre le congé pour le reprendre apès l'arrêt maladie.    

Dernière mise à jour