Disabled child

Conditions:

For a disabled child, an additional supplementary allowance may be claimed.

To qualify for the supplementary allowance, the child:

-    is under 18 years of age

-    the child is in receipt of the Luxembourg family allowance

-    the rate of disability is at least 50% of that of a healthy child of the same age

-    the impairment is permanent, which excludes serious diseases as eg. cancer

 

Entitlement to the special supplementary allowance in Luxembourg is conditional on a permanent impairment of at least 50% of capacity compared to a healthy child of the same age.

Contrary to the rate attributed by the competent authorities in France (and in particular the MDPH), in Belgium or in Germany, the estimation of the permanent impairment rate according to Luxembourg legislation must be established in relation to a healthy child of the same age. It may therefore differ from the one attributed for example by the MDPH, which is generally between 50-79%.

It is therefore not a question of determining a rate that allows an assessment of the child's compensation needs in the field of school, family, relationships, etc., as is the case, for example, in France or in other countries.

For example: attention deficit disorder, learning disability, ADHD, autism spectrum disorder, dysfunctional disorder or any other cognitive disorder is in the vast majority of cases NOT a permanent impairment of at least 50% compared to a healthy child or adolescent of the same age. Many expert reports have estimated the rate of impairment for this type of disorder to be between 10 and 30% of the capacity of a healthy child, which is in line with the estimates given in the European Guide to the Evaluation of Physical and Mental Integrity (Guide barème européen d'évaluation des atteintes à l'intégrité physique et psychique)

 

Last update

Enfant handicapé

Pour un enfant handicapé, une allocation spéciale supplémentaire peut être demandée.
Pour y avoir droit, il faut que:

-    l’enfant soit âgé de moins de 18 ans;
-    l’enfant soit bénéficiaire de l’allocation familiale luxembourgeoise;
-    le taux d’handicap soit au moins 50% par rapport à celui d’un enfant sain du même âge
-    le handicap soit permanent ce qui exclut p.ex. des maladies graves comme le cancer.    

ATTENTION: contrairement au taux attribué par les instances compétentes en France (et notamment la MDPH), en Belgique ou en Allemagne, l'estimation du taux de déficience permanent selon la législation luxembourgeoise doit être établie par rapport à un enfant sain du même âge. Il peut donc différer de celui attribué p.ex. par la MDPH et qui est généralement compris entre 50-79%.

Il ne s’agit donc pas de déterminer un taux permettant une évaluation des besoins de compensation de l'enfant dans le domaine scolaire, la famille, les relations, etc. comme tel est par exemple le cas en France ou dans d’autres pays.

A titre d’exemple: les troubles de l’attention, de l’apprentissage, le TDAH, les troubles du spectre autistique, les troubles « dys » ou tout autre trouble cognitif ne correspondent dans la plus grande majorité des cas PAS en une déficience permanente d’au moins 50% par rapport à un enfant ou adolescent sain du même âge. De nombreuses expertises médicales ont retenu un taux de déficience pour ce type de troubles entre 10 et 30% par rapport aux capacités d’un enfant sain, ce qui se recoupe avec les estimations reprises dans le Guide barème européen d'évaluation des atteintes à l'intégrité physique et psychique.

 

  

Dernière mise à jour