Conditions for employees and apprentices

 

The applicant must:

  • concentrate mainly on bringing up the child or children in question at their own home during the period of parental leave. In the case of separated parents, a judgment with the custody regulations as well as a sworn statement confirming that the child is in the applicant's household during the period of parental leave must be enclosed with the application. The statement must be signed by both parents;
  • be compulsorily affiliated to the Luxembourg social security system on the basis of an employment contract and without interruption for at least twelve continuous months immediately prior to the start of the parental leave;
  • have one or more employment contracts totalling at least ten hours of work per week;
  • be employed under one or more employment contracts or an apprenticeship contract for the duration of the parental leave. Please note: a parent with an apprenticeship contract is only entitled to full-time parental leave of 6 or 4 months;
  • not engage in any professional activity during the period of full-time parental leave or engage in a part-time professional activity reduced by half the time worked before the parental leave. If he has opted for part-time parental leave, he must reduce his working hours by twenty percent per week or stop his work entirely for 4 months within 20 months in case of split parental leave.

If the parent changes employer during the 12-month period prior to or during parental leave, the leave may be granted subject to the agreement of the new employer.

 

Please note: you are NOT entitled to parental leave if you have already received education allowance for the same child (n.b. abolished since 1 June 2015). The anti-cumulation provision also applies if you are resident abroad and were the only worker in Luxembourg. Your spouse did not have any personal right to benefit from the education allowance, but a derived right based on your activity.

The amount of the education allowance can NOT be reimbursed in order to benefit from the parental leave!

Last update

Conditions pour salariés et apprentis

 

Le demandeur doit:

  • Elever dans son foyer le ou les enfants visés et s’adonner principalement à leur éducation pendant la durée du congé parental. En cas de séparation des parents, un jugement de garde ainsi qu'une déclaration sur l'honneur attestant que l'enfant est élevé dans le foyer du demandeur pendant la durée du congé parental sont demandés. La déclaration doit être signée par les deux parents.  
  • Etre affilié obligatoirement à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise sur base d'un contrat de travail et sans interruption pendant au moins 12 mois continus précédant immédiatement le début de congé parental.
  • Disposer d’un ou de plusieurs contrats de travail totalisant au moins 10 heures de travail par semaine
  • Etre occupé du chef d’un ou de plusieurs contrats de travail ou d’un contrat d’apprentissage pendant toute la durée du congé parental. Attention: le parent détenteur d’un contrat d’apprentissage n’a droit qu’au congé parental à plein temps de 6 ou de 4 mois.
  • N’exercer aucune activité professionnelle pendant la durée du congé parental à plein temps ou exercer pendant la durée du congé parental à temps partiel une activité professionnelle à temps partiel réduite de la moitié de la durée de travail presté avant le congé parental ou réduite à raison de 20 pourcent par semaine ou sur 4 périodes d’un mois pendant une période maximale de 20 mois en cas de congé parental fractionné.

Si le parent change d’employeur au cours de la période de douze mois précédant le congé parental ou pendant la durée de celui-ci, le congé peut être alloué sous réserve de l’accord du nouvel employeur.

 

Attention: vous ne pouvez PAS prétendre au congé parental si vous avez déjà bénéficié pour le même enfant de l’allocation d’éducation (n.b. abolie depuis le 1er juin 2015). La disposition anti-cumul s’applique également, si vous résidez à l’étranger et que vous étiez seul à travailleur au Luxembourg. Votre conjoint n’avait pas de droit personnel au bénéfice de l’allocation d’éducation, mais un droit dérivé sur base de votre activité.

Le montant de l’allocation d’éducation ne peut PAS être remboursé afin de pourvoir bénéficier du congé parental !

Dernière mise à jour