Secondment

In the context of the posting of employees, a distinction must be made between:

  • posting to Luxembourg: in this case you remain subject to the social security system of your sending country while temporarily residing with your family in Luxembourg. There is no entitlement to family benefits for your children. The legal residence in Luxembourg does not meet the criteria of stability and permanency for the duration of the secondment, even if your children attend school in Luxembourg.
     
    Please note: the situation is different if one of the parents starts working in Luxembourg and is affiliated to the Luxembourg social security system. On the basis of this work, Luxembourg pays the differential supplement, i.e. the difference between the amounts that are paid by the sending country and those that exist in Luxembourg.
 
  • posting outside Luxembourg: if you remain affiliated to Luxembourg social security and your employer seconds you to another EU country, nothing changes in terms of family benefits.

    Please note: posting outside the European Union is not regulated in the legislation, so in principle there is no entitlement to continued family benefits. BUT: if you remain affiliated to the Luxembourg social security system AND if you keep a legal residence (cumulative conditions) within the European Union, the right to family benefits is maintained during the period of your posting.

Last update

Détachement

Dans le cadre du détachement des travailleurs, il faut distinguer entre :

  • le détachement vers le Luxembourg : dans ce cas vous restez soumis au régime de sécurité sociale de votre pays d’envoi tout en résidant temporairement avec votre famille au Luxembourg. Aucun droit à des prestations familiales n'existe pour vos enfants. Le domicile légal au Luxembourg ne répond pas pour la durée du détachement aux critères de stabilité et de fixité même si vos enfants sont scolarisés au Luxembourg.

     

    Attention : la situation est différente si un des parents commence à travailler au Luxembourg et est affilié à ce titre à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise. Le Luxembourg verse sur base de ce travail le complément différentiel, donc la différence entre les montants qui sont payés par le pays d’envoi et celles qui existent au Luxembourg.

     

  • le détachement en dehors du Luxembourg : si vous restez affilié à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise et votre employeur vous détache dans un autre pays de l’Union européenne, rien ne change au niveau des prestations familiales.

    Attention : le détachement en dehors de l’Union européenne n’est pas réglé dans les textes législatifs, de sorte qu’en principe aucun droit au maintien des prestations familiales n’existe. MAIS : si vous restez affilié à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise ET si vous gardez un domicile légal (conditions cumulatives) au sein de l’Union européenne, le droit aux prestations familiales est maintenu pendant la période de votre détachement. 
Dernière mise à jour